Rich Love

February 6, 2014

I’m just going to warn you now, you’re going to hate me for killing any sense of your diet with this recipe.
Dont say I didn’t warn you.

I have a baking addiction. Like that’s news at all, right? Well my baking addiction leads me to record shows on TV… about baking, you know, in the off chance I might see something that might spark an idea and cause me to create the single best most amazing dessert I’ve ever made from scratch without a proper recipe… (woah run-on sentence)

It did. I did.

Inspiration hit like a ton of bricks.

But I’m getting ahead of myself.

See, on one of those damn cooking networks is a show called Unique Sweets. And Unique Sweets is a show that goes around the country and finds all the damn best pastry shops/ bakeries/ whatever they call it that sell heaven in their windows. Now, normally I’ll be folding laundry or blogging or cleaning and barely paying attention to the show, but THIS DAY… oh no, THIS DAY I PAID ATTENTION.

I don’t even remember the name of the shop, the name of the episode or what day it was. All I know is that it was genius.

Follow me here… Rich & moist chocolate Devils food cake, Peanut butter frosting, chocolate & peanut butter chip brittle and creamy Chocolate Ganache.

WHO’S PAYING ATTENTION NOW?
that’s what I thought…

Untitled-11-01

Jeez, I’m salivating just writing this post…

Okay ready for a recipe? Stay with me here– It’s not overly hard, but it *is* messy.

Sweet & Salty Chocolate Peanut Butter Ding Dong:

This one is in several parts so stick with me here… The ding dong is comprised of several layers. Here I made you a graphic so you could visualize…

S&SVECTOR-01

So much flavor in one bite as you can tell.

Okay, so there are 4 major components to this dessert. The devil’s food cake, the frosting, the ganache and the potato chip brittle. The two items you are going to want to make first are the cake and the brittle.

I cheated and used a box cake mix, I wasn’t trying to impress anyone.
(HINT: if you used a normal spoonful of sour cream in your box cake mixes it keeps them from being dry)

So with the cake in the oven, I moved forward with the brittle. Like I said earlier, there wasn’t a recipe I was following and I honestly wasn’t measuring.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Chocolate & Peanut Butter Chip Brittle:

1 Cup Peanut Butter
1 Cup Chocolate Chips (I used Ghirardelli Semi- Sweet)
1/2- 2/3 Cup Heavy Cream
3/4 of a bag of Plain Potato Chips

DIRECTIONS: Warm the Heavy cream in a med- large size pot on the stove on medium heat. Melt the chocolate & peanut butter into the heavy cream and stir continuously until well blended. (Whisk is probably the best tool here…)

You want your potato chips to be crushed, but not pulverized so crush them up a bit before adding to the melted mixture. Stir just until covered and then remove from the heat.

On your counter lay out a large sheet of wax or parchment paper. Pour your hot, melted mixture on the paper and cover with another sheet of paper. Roll out your mixture between the two sheets with a rolling pin (or bottle of wine/ liquor, you achy) until about 1/4″ or 1/2″ thick.  Then shift the wax paper to a cookie tray and put in the freezer (or if you live in michigan just cover with a towel and put it outside, cuz it’s the fricken frozen tundra here). You want them to cool completely and get hard.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Peanut Butter Frosting:

1/2 Cup Butter Softened
1 Cup Peanut Butter
3 Table Spoon Milk (More as needed)
2 Cups Confectioners Sugar

DIRECTIONS: Whip the butter and peanut butter until well mixed, gradually add the sugar and when the mixture starts to get thick add the milk a tablespoon as a time until your desired consistency. Beat for at least 3 minutes for fluffy and light frosting.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Rich Milk Chocolate Ganache:

2 Cups Heavy Cream
1 Bag Ghirardelli Milk Chocolate Chips

DIRECTIONS: Warm the heavy cream on medium heat in a small saucepan. Add the chocolate chips and stir continuously until completely melted.

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

Ok, now to building your new masterpiece… You start with a layer of your devil’s food cake. I used a hexagon cutter but it was honestly too big, I might use a circle one next time and go much smaller. (Do as a I say and not as I do, people)

Second Layer: Small swipe of peanut butter, it’s the “glue” for your brittle.

Third Layer: Next cut your cooled/ hard brittle with the same size cutter as your devil’s food cake and add a thin slice.

Fourth Layer: Heavy hand of frosting.

Fifth Layer: Top with another layer of devil’s food cake. Next smooth out the frosting on your “tower”.

Sixth Layer: Layer a cooling rack and a cookie sheet (to catch the extra) and set your towers on the cooling rack. Drizzle your warm ganache over the tower and enjoy the mouthwatering sensation.

Once cooled slightly top with a cute heart shaped sprinkle (for v-day, or maybe a pearl for non-vday)

Image-01

Hopefully that blows your mind, because it completely blows mine. ❤

Happy Baking…

Signature-01

