LOVEly Meal Idea – Spinach & Cheese Chicken Roll-Ups

February 3, 2014

Everyone has *those* recipes. You know the ones I’m talking about. The standard basic ones in the back of your head that you could whip up quickly without much forethought.

Granted, I don’t have very many. I’m not a cook. I bake.

Big difference.

I get nervous cooking for other people. Meals specifically. Like items that are supposed to supplement you throughout the day. I worry that I might eff it up somehow and then that person is short a whole meal.

Stupid, right?

I know. :/

However, in the back of my head I do have those very few recipes that I know I can pull off. These Spinach and Cheese Chicken Roll Ups are a recipe from my step-mom (Thanks Sandy!) who I think adapted it from a Rachel Ray recipe?? Maybe… I’m not 100% sure. Either way its freaking delicious.

Spinach Chicken Roll Up-01

They are SUPER SIMPLE to make and even better don’t take that many ingredients so easy on the wallet too. Plus if you’re making them for 1-2 people there’s generally leftovers and I love me some leftovers.

Less work.

Gosh I’m a lazy cook.

PS: This recipe is for Pat, who politely asked me for the recipe today while at work and I was too lazy to text the whole damn thing to him so I told him I’d blog it instead. So there.

SPINACH & CHEESE CHICKEN ROLL UPS

2-4 Boneless Skinless Chicken Breast (estimate half a large breast per person)
2 Handfuls of Baby Spinach (I usually just buy a bag/ container and use it for smoothies too)
8oz Package of Goat Cheese (or 16oz if you love cheese… or have more than 2-3 chicken breasts)
6 Slices of Baked Ham (no flavoring, you can get this at the deli counter, and yes– you CAN just as for 6 slices… who would have known?)
1/3 cup Italian Bread Crumbs
Olive Oil
Toothpicks

STEP 1: Using a meat hammer (or something equally heavy) pound your chicken breasts flat. They need to be about 1/3-1/2 inch thick. Set aside. Turn on your stove and place a large skillet with 2-4 TBSP olive oil to warm to med-high heat. Turn oven on to 350° F.

STEP 2: On a cutting board chop 2/3 handfuls of baby spinach into small pieces. About 1/4 size works good. Doesn’t have to be perfect. Then mix chopped baby spinach in a medium sized bowl with the 8-16oz of goat cheese. You want this mixed really well.

STEP 3: On a plate layer a flattened chicken breast with 1 slice of your ham and multiple spoonfuls of the spinach and cheese mixture. You want it to be well covered with the mixture but still roll-able. 

STEP 4: Starting on one end slowly roll your chicken and use a toothpick or two to secure. They will be large. The put your 1/3 cup of breadcrumbs on a plate or bowl and cover your chicken roll completely.

STEP 5: In your med-high warm skillet brown the outside of your rollups. Place in a baking dish and put in the oven for 25-30 minutes or until cooked throughly.

Before serving remove the toothpicks. Trust me— I accidentally chomped down on one. That shit hurts.

Spinach Chicken Roll Up-01

Generally I serve these with green beans and potatoes, but they are almost a meal alone. Maybe a great salad?

This is the PERFECT MEAL to make for Valentine’s Day for your *person*.

PS: Does anyone else feel that way about cooking for people? It’s like a phobia I swear…

Signature-01

