Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie (& A Monster Giveaway)

October 16, 2013

Dear people in Utah. I’m jealous of you. In fact I’ve been jealous of you for a while.

See… I’m a snowboarding aficionado.  And I tend to take snowboarding trips with the family. And during one of these “trips”  a few years ago to Utah with family & a co-worker I made the greatest discovery ever.

During a meal in Midvale, UT (to which place, I honestly can’t remember) my co-worker and I stumbled upon a place called “Smart Cookie” which turned out to be a homemade ice-cream cookie sandwich stop. Basically serving gourmet ice cream cookie sandwiches.

Now, I’ve never met an ice cream cookie sandwich I didn’t like. So naturally we indulged.

BEST ICE CREAM SANDWICH EVER.

Since then I’ve been determined to find the best combination that would come even remotely close to that deliciousness.

The sandwich I “created” at Smart Cookie was a Double Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie sandwich with Oreo Ice Cream. The cookie was chewy and chocolatey and the chocolate chips melted in your mouth even when the cookie wasn’t warm.

So after months of searching for a good recipe, trying them, not having them be right… searching again… I finally found the best recipe for chocolate chocolate chip cookies that replicated the one from Smart Cookie.

Creative Life Antics Ultimate Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookies

Before I share the recipe I will admit this is NOT my recipe. However, before blogging I had a habit of just writing the recipe down on a piece of paper. So I honestly don’t know where it came from. I’m sure there are several people with this version of cookie so I’m placing no claim to it… other that this is the one I use. Religiously.

The Ultimate
Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie Recipe

Ingredients:

1 Cup                             Butter (softened)
1 1/2 Cups                    Granulated Sugar
2 Eggs
2 Tsp.                             Vanilla Extract
2 Cups                           All-Purpose Flour
2/3 Cup                         Cocoa Powder
3/4 Tsp.                         Baking Soda
1/4 Tsp.                         Salt
2 Cups                           Semi-Sweet Chocolate Chips
(I use Ghirardelli, I love how they stay melty after baking)

Directions:

1. Preheat oven to 350°F

2. In a large bowl or mixer bowl beat butter, sugar, eggs and vanilla until light and fluffy.

3. In a small bowl combine the cocoa powder, flour, baking soda and salt until well mixed. Slowly add to butter and sugar mixture in the mixer/ large bowl and mix throughly.

4. Mix in the chocolate chips until well distributed. Then take large teaspoons of dough and place on an ungreased baking sheet 1-2 inches apart. (HINT: Since I use these for ice cream cookie sandwiches, I generally make my balls bigger and then flatten to 1/2 or 3/4 of an inch on the baking sheet before putting in the oven.

5. Bake in over for 9 minutes, you want the edges to be just firm but the inside to be soft and gooey so they are chewy when they cool. Remove to cooling rack & enjoy!

** WARNING** This is THE MOST addicting unbaked cookie dough recipe I’ve ever tried. they dough is the perfect combination of salty and sweet and it’s impossible to not want to consume the entire bowl of dough off the bat. While I am not advocating eating raw dough with raw eggs in it… I’m warning that this will be highly addicting if you try a bite. 

IMG_8245

Anyways, being close to halloween you can generally find all kinds of fun baking goodies pretty much anywhere. I found some cool sugar candy eye balls at Kroger on Sunday and decided to add them to my ice cream cookie sandwich.

As far as the ice cream goes– you’re better off going with the creamy good stuff. Like Stroh’s or Guernsey

Put a scoop of the good creamy stuff in-between two of the cookies. You can decorate with sprinkles or carmel or whatever your heart desires…. Or just give them some eyes and have a cookie monster meal 🙂

Photo Oct 13, 9 03 02 PM (1)

Part TWO of today’s post is a MONSTER giveaway to go with my MONSTER COOKIE.

I am so excited to help celebrate and sponsor 1000 Facebook friends on my friend DeDe’s Facebook page! 10 of her blogging buddies and could not think of a better way to celebrate than to sponsor a really awesome giveaway!

Celebrating 1000 Facebook Friends with a $100 World Market Giveaway! http://www.designeddecor.com

1. Amy from One Artsy Mama 2. Kara from Happy Go Lucky 3. Kirsten from One Tough Mother 4. Kim from Enjoy the View 5. Megan from Crafty Meggy 6. Kallee from Creative Southern Home 7. Susan from Organized 31 8. Danielle from 2 Little Superheros 9. Emily from Tossed Salad Life 10. Justynn from Creative Life Antics.

So what are we giving away to celebrate? How about…

Enter to Win~ $100 World Market Gift Card ~ http://www.designeddecor.com

We are giving away a $100 World Market Gift Card to one lucky winner. If you are the lucky winner and do not have a World Market in your area, you can spend your gift card on the World Market website.

Now, lets cut to the chase and get this giveaway started. Enter to win below with the rafflecopter. Remember, the more links you follow, the better your chances of winning. Good Luck!

a Rafflecopter giveaway

*Winning entries will be verified. This giveaway is in no way affiliated, administered or endorsed by Facebook, Pinterest or Twitter. No information will be disclosed to Facebook, Pinterest or Twitter by entering this giveaway. No purchase necessary to win. Odds of winning are based on number of entrants. Winner for each prize package will be chosen randomly through Rafflecopter. Giveaway will run for 7 days from the start of giveaway. Winner will be announced )2 days after giveaway ends) on this blog post and the winner will need to respond within 48 hours of announcement / email to claim their prize or another winner will be chosen. Winner must be 18 years of age or older and a US citizen with a US mailing address in order to win. Winner is responsible for paying any necessary taxes on winnings. A list of winners may be requested after the giveaway has ended. Please email DeDe with any questions or to obtain additional information at: dede(at)designeddecor(dot)com.*

signature gradual grey

Enter to Win a $100 Gift Card form World Market ~ http://www.designeddecor.com

4 responses to Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie (& A Monster Giveaway)

  1. 

    I will definitely be trying this cookie recipe.

  2. 

    Oh wow. My boyfriend would die for these cookies, might have to make try these. I would love to win your giveaway, I could spend so much money at world market! I’d probably use it on some new curtains 🙂

  3. 

    I made cookie last night also!! My very first cookie maker adventure! And between my husband and I, we ate the entire . No excuse. Just wanted cookies.
    And I’m excited to try out this recipe!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Crio Bru: Cookies For the Win « Creative Life Antics - March 7, 2014

    […] wouldn’t you know it, the cookies turned out pretty darn good!. I use my Chocolate Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe with the substitution of 1/3 Cup Cocoa Power & 1/3 Cup Crio Bru Maya and then made the […]