MidCentury Modern Dresser Update

October 14, 2013

A few weeks ago I promised you the process of how I updated my MCM dresser. Today is FINALLY the day I’m sharing that update.

The overall process took over a month, mostly because it was too hot to even attempt sanding… have you ever sanded when it was gross sticky out? DONT. I beg you, for Pete’s sake don’t. (btw, who is pete?)

MCM Update CLA Final-01

Pretty isn’t it? It probably my favorite thing I’ve made in a while.

Anyways, so this story starts off with a search on craigslist for something to do. I found a really cool MDM but it was kinda $$ and I wasn’t looking to pay over $100 for something I was just going to “fix”. So I kept the listing for a few months in my inbox and checked back on it. I was really excited to find out that not only was the dresser still available but the price had dropped significantly to $50. SOLD.

I went and picked up the dresser, which was in notably worse condition than I had realized. Because of all the scratches and patching it would need, I wasn’t able to stain the outside shell.

Before & Sanding-01

I started off by sanding down the faux wood laminate finish on the entire of the base. This took several days, that finish was NOT going to budge.

The hardest part was sanding down the drawers. The handles proved to be the hardest part of the whole sanding process because of the angles and rounded edges. However, it revealed that the handles were made of an entirely different type of wood. At first I was pissed, knowing full well i wouldn’t be able to get the handles to match the staining on the drawer fronts. Then after I stained them dark, I realized the contrasting handles actually MADE the piece.

SANDING DRAWERS-01

This picture shows the before and after of the drawers. What a COMPLETE difference. It’s truly amazing! I fell in love at this point. Knowing full well I would not be giving this piece up!

Drawer Before and After-01

Once the drawers were finished I finished up the base of the unit. It took Three coats of Kilz Primer and 3 coats of white with some light sanding in between to get the color I was looking for. I also applied a polyacrylic to the outside of the base to give it a hard outer shell for protection from crazy dogs.

They drawers were stained and waxed over, and the handles received a gold spray paint update.

Almost finished 2-01

Final Close Up-01

finished 1-01

It’s not perfect by any means, but I’m super proud of how it turned out. This is the first of many furniture redo projects in my future I’m sure 🙂

So what do you think? Did I do the piece justice?

Until next time…

xoxo

Justynn

4 responses to MidCentury Modern Dresser Update

  1. 
    Painted Love Blog October 15, 2013 at 12:17 PM

    It looks amaaaaazzzinnnggg!!

  2. 

    I am obsessed with this dresser and how it is syled!

  3. 

    Thank you so much!