This Sh*t is BANANAS, B-A-N-A-N-A-S…

September 24, 2013

I don’t know about you guys, but when fall hits I get into a serious baking routine. Mostly of apple pies, and apple crisp and fall/ winter treats… but another favorite that I really only seem to make when it gets cold out is banana bread. Notice I didn’t say “Banana Nut Bread”. Why? Cuz I can’t eat nuts. I love peanut butter and all that good stuff and occasionally can eat pistachios, but overall something about consuming nuts does funny things to my tummy, and we all know where that leads…

Anyways… TMI.

BANANA BREAD

Banana Bread has slowly become one of my “adult life” favorites. You know, the things you didn’t try or didn’t know you’d like until you were and adult and was forced to try a sample by your step-mother because “you cant know if you like something until you try it”. Thanks Sandeez 🙂

This recipe comes from said step-mother, who I lovingly just refer to as Mom #2. This woman has been in my life since I was 4, and I love her dearly like another mom. Esp… when she cooks. Because boy oh boy can this woman cook. I wish I had her ability to mix flavors and try new stuff and somehow make it work. 

I was always afraid to try the bread because I hate banana “flavored” things. Love bananas, cant stand the fake stuff.  Guys I can’t even eat banana flavored Pez or the small candies that look like barbie bananas. But eventually I tried some and now I’m hooked.

So I was kinda thankful Sunday when I spotted 3 very ripe bananas from the rooms that in another day or two would end up I the trash, and decided to use them (hey thanks rooms ;))

This recipe couldn’t be more simple and quick and takes zero effort on your part other than mixing.

THE BEST BANANA BREAD RECIPE

INGREDIENTS:

1/2 CUP        Butter
3/4 CUP        Sugar
2                     Eggs
3                     Mushed Bananas
2 CUPS          Flour
1/2 TSP.        Salt
1/2 TSP.        Baking Powder
1 TSP.            Baking Soda

1 TBSP         Vegetable Oil
2-3 TBSP     Flour

INSTRUCTIONS:

1) Preheat over to 350°F . Prepare loaf pan by rubbing sides and bottom with the vegetable oil and a paper towel. Use 2-3 Tablespoons of flour and tap/ coat the side and bottom of the pan evenly. Tap excess flour out into trash.

2) Using a stand or hand mixer beat butter until soft (I always use cold butter and just throw it in my stand mixer). Then add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Add eggs and bananas and beat slowly until well mixed. Basically you still want some good banana chunks to remain (those are the best part!)

3) In a small bowl mix remaining ingredients (Flour, baking powder, baking soda & salt).  Once well mixed slowly add to the wet ingredients.

4) Pour mixture into your loaf pan and put that baby into the over for 50 minutes, then check it to see how firm the top is. You want to remove the banana bread at just the right time that it’s not overly dry inside, but cooked thoroughly. I generally throw it in for 50 min, and forget it then watch it closely for anywhere between 5-10 minutes. If you had bigger bananas you’ll need the extra time, smaller bananas need less time.

Photo Sep 22, 3 02 35 PM

5) Take it out of the oven when the top is firm, but the cracks on top show a moist center. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes then remove and place on cooling rack.

I feel the best way to store it is in a Ziplock bag on the counter… it generally only stays around in my house for MAYBE a week (I swear gremlins eat it).

Some people like to add butter to their pieces, but I love it au-natural. Butter might be good if your break comes out a little dry…

What are some of your favorite “adult life” foods?

blogsignature-01

2 responses to This Sh*t is BANANAS, B-A-N-A-N-A-S…

  1. 

    1. I hate banana flavored things, yet love banana bread as well 2. Mine ALWAYS includes chocolate chips. 3. Feel free to bring baked goods across state lines to me.

  2. 

    of courseeeeee 🙂