Welcome to Fall!

September 23, 2013

Hey guys, Monday morning… normally my least favorite day of the week, but I have to say other than waking up early it’s been a pretty decent one so far. This weekend was a big… relief? of sorts.

The last couple of weeks have been rough. Some personal life stuff, work stuff, and then the STYTC competition deadlines. I loved being in the competition but I wasn’t as prepared for each week’s craft as I thought I was. Plus I was competing against some really amazing bloggers who apparently don’t sleep, eat or shower… cuz I have no idea how they were able to do the crafts they did in the time that they did them.

**Side note, week 4 Fall Crafts is up, go vote for your favorites!!**

So, I just wanted to say a huge thank you to everyone that left a sweet comment about my crafts and about my efforts in the competition. I truly loved being a part of it and will look forward to being in more competitions in the near future. Until then though we are back to regular scheduled programming.

So, what would have been my craft for today? My fall craft was…

SYTYC W4 Photo1-01

Using pegboard from my local hardware store I created a large scale cross-stitched candy corn with yarn.

SYTYC W4 Photo2-01

SYTYC W4 Photo3-01

The whole project kinda stemmed from this image that I had pinned way back when (which is an official measurement of time) and when I was searching through pinterest for ideas I stumbled back across the pin (I knew I pinned that for SOME REASON).  Anyways, in my frantic search I started looking through all my pinterest boards and came across this image. which lead me to a google search for cross stitched pegboards and I found the following images…

PicMonkey Collage

Anyways, I thought the idea was unique and different and I could really turn it into a cool “masterpiece” so I attempted to do a fall leaf first.

Which turned into a major fail. Like major. I thought that if i painted the background black the colors of the yarn would stand out more, which they did, and by doing so they highlighted my second fail… To make the leaf large I cut the shape on an angle. Not realizing that doing so would affect the actual “stitch” being as it would no longer be an “X” it would turn into a box shape.

Which is a no-no.

This is what it looked like nearing the end…

PicMonkey Collage1

So after all that fail ^^ See above picture…. I decided to try the idea again, but with a more simple shape. This is how I ended up making my candy corn masterpiece…

PicMonkey Collage2

SUPPLIES: 

  • Pegboard (can be found at the hardware store in smaller sizes)
  • Orange, yellow & white paint (spray or acrylic)
  • Clear coat paint (to protect from weather)
  • Yarn in orange, yellow and white (buy at meijers, cheaper than craft stores… unless you have a coupon)
  • Crochet or Yarn Needles
    (found mine in a pack from meijers for $1.99)
  • Floral Wire (mines in black)
  • Raffata (mines red)
  • Burlap

STEP ONE:  CUT & SAND PEGBOARD. I used a hand jigsaw to cut both the leaf and the candy corn, however I did result in a nice blood blister from cutting it this way. I suggest taking your time and not rushing it, might take a hot minute for you to get used to cutting the pegboard. Wear goggles/ glasses as it’s VERY dusty. Sand down the edges and front and back of the pegboard to get and even, tangle free surface.

STEP TWO: PAINT. I used white primer spray paint in several coats to get a good white on the pegboard. Then using frog tape I painted off the middle and bottom section with orange and yellow paint. I just used acrylic, but you could use spray paint too. Let everything dry and then add a generous coat of clear coat to the whole piece (front, back & sides) before moving onto the yarn. The clear coat protects the porous pegboard from the weather.

STEP THREE: APPLY CROSS STITCH. Starting in the orange section I used my yarn needle to start the “X” pattern from the bottom working my way to the top of the orange section. At this point I figured I’d give blending the two different colored sections a “go” so I used the orange only in parallel lines crossing over into the yellow section. Then after tying off the orange I used the yellow to finish the orange lines and continued up to the white section where I repeated the process.

STEP FOUR: ADD WIRE & BOW ACCENTS. After the yarn work was complete I used black floral wire (found at Michaels) to create a hanger. I twisted the wire around and made curly “qs” to give it some depth and texture. Then I attached a raffata and burlap ribbon for an accent.

And that’s it. It really couldn’t be more simple. The cross-stitching does take some time, but I popped in a movie and was able to complete it fairly quickly.

Imagine all the different shapes you could make. Maybe a pumpkin? Maybe a witch’s hat? Or you could keep the basic square shape and use the yarn to create your pattern.

What fall crafts are you working on right now? Let’s see them! 

Thanks again for all the support!! I’ll be back tomorrow 😉

blogsignature-01

14 responses to Welcome to Fall!

  1. 

    Sweet craft! Pinned:) Love that candy corn! I posted Mr Bottle Bones, Scrappy Banner and Halloween Banner to DIY. Stop by

  2. 

    Oh man. You know that I am going to miss your projects. You’re one of the more fresh, unique contestants we’ve had in the competition and I am really sad to see you go 😦 Love your guts!

  3. 

    Thanks Michele! I will definitely stop by!

  4. 

    Tauni, you are so inspiring. I’m so glad to have met you through SYTYC and cant wait to meet you in person someday. Thank you for all the encouragement and sweet words of advice. I look forward to working with you sometime int he future! Maybe there will be a “reunion round” 😉

  5. 

    Very, very cute craft…and it’s so versatile! Wonderful job! This would be great to link up to Create It Thursday #21…it’s live now! Hope to see you there!

  6. 

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted
    to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts.
    In any case I’ll be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again soon!

  7. 

    Quality articles is the main to be a focus for the viewers
    to pay a visit the site, that’s what this
    web site is providing.

  8. 

    Some wedding dress designers develop historical themed gowns in Gothic, Medieval
    and a lot of far more historical types which are unique and fascinating.

    Save yourself some time and valuable gas money
    by calling local consignments shops to see if they are currently accepting
    used wedding dresses. For instance, when you are thinking
    about an outdoor event, consider what type of elements your dress will be exposed to.

  9. 

    The innovative design of the Back – Pack shelf makes it easily adjustable by sliding it up and down the desk stand.
    I must admit it was a golden ‘silver’ minute even though I knew that my silver sack was nothing but a panacea,
    real or imagined, for my distressed emotions following the
    accident. However, you use Windows; you may not
    understand the Mac way of life.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. My Homepage - September 24, 2013

    … [Trackback]

    […] Find More Informations here: creativelifeantics.com/2013/09/23/welcome-to-fall/ […]

  2. 30 Candy Corn Crafts and Recipes - October 17, 2013

    […] Green Candy Corn Garland from Renewed Projects Rustic Halloween Vignette from Live Laugh Rowe Fall Porch Decoration from Creative Life Antics Crocheted Candy Corn Pattern from Petals to Picots Candy Corn […]

  3. 30 Candy Corn Projects: Crafts and Treats - Do Small Things with Love - October 17, 2013

    […] Corn Garland from Renewed Projects Rustic Halloween Vignette from Live Laugh Rowe Fall Porch Decoration from Creative Life Antics Candy Corn Shrink Plastic Bracelet from Happy Hour Projects […]

  4. 30 Fantastic Fall Crafts and Decorations - Seven Alive - September 7, 2014

    […] Welcome to Fall ~ Creative Life Antics […]