Thursday Morning Comfort

September 12, 2013

I don’t know about you guys, but when we hit September, my mind if purely on fall. Fall activities, fall foods (cider mill anyone?) and the comfort of a good hot chocolate.

I’m going to shock you guys… ready? I don’t drink coffee. Nope. Not even cappuccino, frappuccino, caramel machiwhatos… (literally didn’t know how to spell them, thanks auto correct) none of it. Love the smell, cannot stand the taste.

I guess that’s not SO shocking. I mean it’s not like I’m the only one… (wait, what’s that? I AM the ONLY ONE?) uhhh right so moving on..

My general routine in the morning is short and sweet, and when I get to the office I enjoy a nice big cup of Green Tea (gotta get the caffeine somehow right?).

So on bad days, bad weeks… days that I’m struggling (much like today) I treat myself to my comfort drink. A nice big cup of calorie loaded Hot Chocolate.

So it was pure coincidence that my #BlogPal for this month Bonnie from The Pin Junkie mentioned that she was looking forward to doing a hot chocolate recipe for our collaborated post this week.

I Have A BlogPal-01-01

Bonnie is a self proclaimed pinning junkie and loves everything about Pinterest. I’ve had the pleasure of checking out some of her Pinterest boards and there are some seriously good pins going on there. Check out this one for Halloween outfit ideas. I love the Rosie the Riveter one (Since I’m from Detroit and all ;))

Pause: Wondering what BlogPal is? BlogPal is a semi monthly blog partner project where bloggers get matched up with other bloggers to make new friends/ collaborate on posts and stretch their comfort zone. You can find more information on it here.

Hot Chocolate-01

So here there are my tips to the perfect cup of hot chocolate:

1) Must be in a mug. To Go cups are great and all, but seriously, if I’m consuming that many calories in one drink I want to ENJOY THEM.

2) Cannot be made from the mix packets. I’m sorry if it offends anyone but the ONLY hot chocolate I WANT is made with MILK. Whole Milk. And not made from a packet. My own mixes are fine, but I wanna know whats in it.

3) Must be rich and chocolatey. Drinking chocolate is what they used to call it back in the heyday and THAT’S the kind of hot chocolate I want. Rich, dark and satisfying. (If I’m making it at home I generally add semi-sweet chips to the mix for a unique flavor)

4) Cinnamon. Adding just a hint of cinnamon to the mix only brings out the flavor of the hot chocolate even more. First found this out while at a girl scout event and one of the moms was making a big batch of her “secret sleeping potion” which was literally hot chocolate with cinnamon. Ever since then it’s a must.

5) Whipped Cream. ANY whipped cream will do, but made from scratch and the stuff out of the can seem to be my favorite. Marshmallows are good too, but nothing beats whipped cream.

So that’s it. That’s what makes my morning. Unsure how to make from scratch Hot Chocolate at home? Check out Bonnie’s recipe here.

What is your comfort drink?

blogsignature-01

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Crio Bru: Cookies For the Win « Creative Life Antics - March 7, 2014

    […] Well, like most people, I need a little extra help in the morning. But I LOATHE coffee. Love the smell, if I could drink the smell I would. But I can’t, and frankly, I just can’t stand the taste. That being said, however I do generally get my caffeine buzz from tea or every great once in a while I’ll treat myself to a rich, yummy hot chocolate. […]