Zucchini Tomato Lasagna

September 11, 2013

Alright, I think it’s about time I added some more food onto this so called “blog”. You wouldn’t know by my normal content that I actually eat food… because I rarely post about it. But I do. Mostly it’s just me burning food, and trying to convince myself that the burnt charcoal taste adds “something” to the dish. I’m also not always the HEALTHIEST eater. But I’m trying to become one.

ZucchiniLasagna-01

If you’ve been following me on Instagram, Twitter, Pinterest or Facebook (if you don’t, please follow!) you may have notice 5 GINORMOUS Zucchinis in my kitchen. I bought one for $1.50 at Detroit’s Eastern Market and then the next day my mother gave me four. more. zucchinis. What the hell am I going to do with FIVE Zucchinis, each the size of an infant? I love Zucchini, but damn. (BTW, still have 3 left… taking suggestions…)

So I searched on Pinterest of course and found a recipe for a “Lasagna” that included Zucchini, Tomatoes, Corn & Panko Crust. It looked easy enough (meaning I just had to put it all into a baking dish) so I figured I’d try it out. If it goes wrong, at least I’d still have 4 more…

The recipe is really easy. But first you need to know the ingredients:

INGREDIENTS:
1 LB. Zucchini (Enough to slice and make at least two layers in your backing dish.) I use one WHOLE big zucchini.
1 1/4 LB. Vine-Ripen Tomatos
1 1/2 Cups. Fresh or Frozen Corn Kernels
Cooking Spray
1/2 Cup. Planko
1/2 Cup. Grated Parmesan Cheese
2 TBSP. Garlic Powder
Salt & Pepper to Spice

INSTRUCTIONS:

 

Step 1: Preheat Oven to 400° F. Spray baking dish with cooking spray & slice zucchini & tomatos.

Step 2: Alternately layer sliced zucchini, corn kernels, and sliced tomatoes until used up. I did two layers, but three is good too.

Step 3: In a small bowl combined the planko, parmesan cheese and garlic powder until well mixed. Then add salt and pepper (I just did a few shakes of each) for flavor. Layer this “crust” topping on your veggies and throw in the oven for 30 minutes, or until the top is golden brown.

IMG_8144 copy

After 30 minutes take out of the oven and let cool for 10 minutes before stuffing your face.

Honestly, I didn’t have much hope for this recipe when I started but I LOVED IT. And, for the most part it’s REALLY healthy. So that’s a plus. Oh, and simple. like… way simple. I could pick up these ingredients on my way home from work after a rally long day and make this no problem.

Definitely try it out.

**Just a reminder that this is week 2 of the SYTYC competition and I would LOVE IT, if you stopped by and voted**

Have a good one guys!

blogsignature-01

3 responses to Zucchini Tomato Lasagna

  1. 
    Kelly at View Along the Way September 11, 2013 at 10:19 PM

    Looks DEEEElicious! It’s a relief to know you’ve been eating. 🙂

  2. 

    It turned out WAY better than expected. And apparently eating is a good thing? ::shrugs:: guess I’ve been doing it all wrong.

  3. 

    Thanks for this! Being a vegetarian, I love finding new veggie recipes.