Kitchen Herb Planter

September 10, 2013

It’s Tutorial day! Anyone excited?

I LOVED making this project. Why? 1) I got to use my power tools. 2) It was EASY. 3) It was cheap.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

Alright lets get right into it…

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

First things first, we need to get our wood. Boy’s roommate found a great pallet for me from his work and I’ve been saving it for a project. When this idea popped up I just knew it’d be perfect. Unfortunately it meant I needed to tear that pallet apart. I broke out my hand jig saw and cut through the board on the end on both sides of the pallet.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

Tearing a pallet apart is NOT an easy job. If you have a better way PLEASE TELL ME. I was pretty frustrated trying to tear it apart. By cutting off the sides I basically only left the center support beam. After that it was easy to use a hammer to tap the pieces out the of center beam. After tearing it all apart, I cut my boards down to the sizes I picked out for my table. After everything was cut I screwed together my box.

TIP: ALWAYS drill pilot holes This helps prevent your wood from cracking when you screw everything together.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

Now, the box just needs a bottom (otherwise what’s the point, right?) I used another piece of the pallet wood to make a quick base for the bottom of the box. Since this was a Kitchen theme, I decided that the handles for my box needed to be silverware. I found a great spatula and serving fork and used a hammer and an unused piece of wood to bend them into handles for my box.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

To attach the handles I used shorter screws, but ran into a small issue with the heads being too small. To fix this issue I took nuts from my stash to extend the screw heads allowing them to hold the utensils onto the box.

After the box was built I needed to add the plants. Keeping with the kitchen theme I bought four containers from my local Salvation army to hold the herb plants. I think the old coffee pot is my favorite. It truly brought the theme home. The other containers are  an old dry measuring cup, an old wet measuring cup and a canning jar. The total cost for all the jars and utensils was $7.

I filled each of the containers halfway with rock to provide some room for drainage of the water. You don’t want your plants to sit in water as it will rot the roots. But by adding rocks the plants roots will grown down into the rocks allowing them to absorb water as needed. We planted each herb into a “planter” and then added them to the box. At this point I noticed that if I moved the box at all the herb planters would shift and possibly tumble (knowing my luck).

Wanting to avoid an accident at all cost, I bought some white rocks off Amazon (here
) and added them to the bottom of the box to hold each herb planter securely. This also added a nice visual touch to the bottom of the planter box.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

Lastly, I decided to make some “name tags” for each of the plants. I have about a thousand corks just hanging out (no, I didn’t drink all the wine… only half…). I grabbed some BBQ skewers from my kitchen and stuck corks on the pointed end and used a sharpie to write the name of each plant on them. And that folks, is all she wrote. The whole project couldn’t have been more simple.

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

Kitchen Herb Planter from an old pallet! Great Idea. // Creative Life Antics

What do you think? Would you make one? I think the box is great because even after I end up killing the plants (which will eventually happen. I don’t have the greenest thumb on earth) I can use it to hold a ton of other decoration for Fall, Thanksgiving and Christmas. It’s very versatile.

What herb project/ pallet projects/ kitchen projects have you made? Link them up below so I can go check them out.

**Just a reminder that until Thursday at 7pm EST you can vote for your top 5 Upcycle Project on SYTYC. Hopefully you pick mine as one of your favorites!**

Upcycle-Vote-Collage

Until next time… Crafter Justynn, out.

blogsignature-01

8 responses to Kitchen Herb Planter

  1. 

    This is adorable! I love that you used the fork on the side, i think that is the perfect finishing touch.

  2. 

    Bravo! I like your creativity and resourcefulness when picking the materials.

  3. 

    Thanks! It was a lot of fun hunting down the pieces. 🙂

  4. 

    Thanks Kelly! I think the servingware of either side are my favorite too!

  5. 

    I love this Herb Planter and it’s rustic touch! Great idea! Now how do I keep my cats from chopping on the herbs? Ha!

    Cheers!

    -Tutu

  6. 

    I absolutely love your blog and find the majority of your post’s to
    be precisely what I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write
    content for you personally? I wouldn’t mind creating a post or elaborating on most of the subjects you write about here.
    Again, awesome web log!

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Kitchen Herb Planter from Found Objects - September 12, 2013

    […] blogs at Creative Life Antics.  ”A friend found a great pallet for me from his work and I’ve been saving it for a […]

  2. Contestant Interview: Justynn, Creative Life Antics - So You Think You're Crafty - September 25, 2013

    […] Kitchen Utensil Herb Planter | Peanut Butter S’mores Cookie Cups | Zucchini Tomato Lasagna |  Magazine Skull Art | Peg Board Candy Corn Decor […]