Fill The Cookie Jar | S’mores Cookie-cupcakes

September 5, 2013

Smores Cookie Cups // Creative Life Antics

What better way to start off September than with a completely delicious diet breaker… Right? For Month TWO of Fill the Cookie Jar (I’m on a roll here people…) the theme was “Fall Favorite”. Now, you might be thinking how is “S’mores” a fall favorite? Let me explain…

When I think of Fall, I think of the end of summer and more bonfires (to keep you warm). When I was in high school and even now, I mostly only did “bonfires” when the weather got cold, less bugs and I feel like I can sit around it longer. ANYWAYS…

This recipe is an adaptation of the one by Culinary Couture — Peanut Butter S’mores Cookie Cups. Which, btw you should stop by Meriem’s blog.. super yummy recipes! I edited the recipe a bit to make more sense for me so I’ll show those changes below in red.

S'more Cookie Cups-01

Yields: 18 cookie cups (Mine made just BARELY 18… but I probably used too much for the bases… actually– I KNOW I used too much)

Ingredients:
1 and 3/4 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 stick (8 tablespoons) unsalted butter, room temperature
1/2 cup peanut butter (I used closer to 2/3 cup. What? I love Peanut Butter…)
3/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup white sugar
1 egg
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract (This I also used a tad* bit more of. And by *tad* I mean I accicently spilled a bit more into the bowl)
2 tablespoons milk
1/2 cup marshmallow creme (I didn’t actually measure this out, I just scooped a bit for each one about the size of a cherry for each cup)
1/2 cup Nutella (or any chocolate hazelnut spread) This I substituted completely with Hershey Bars broken up into pieces.


Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees F. Spray a 12-cup muffin tin with cooking spray and set aside.

In a medium sized bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, and salt. Set aside.

In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with a paddle attachment, cream together butter, peanut butter, and sugars until light and fluffy. Add egg and vanilla, and beat until well incorporated. Stir in milk. Gradually add in dry ingredients, beating after each addition until combined. Chill dough in fridge for about an hour.

Using lightly floured hands, take about a tablespoon of dough and press it into the bottom of each muffin cup. Dollop a teaspoon of Nutella Hersery Bar into the center of the dough, followed by a teaspoon Cherry sized *ball* of marshmallow creme. Next, take about a teaspoon of dough, roll it into a ball, then flatten it into a disc and cover the marshmallow creme in each muffin cup.

Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden brown. (DEFINITELY DO NOT OVER BAKE THESE, the bottoms will burn) Cool in tins for 10 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

NOW… onto my “addition”…

I then took the cooled “cookies” and dipped the tops into a chocolate Ganache. Yep. I just went there. Diet completely just flew out the window. Ganache sounds so much harder than it actually is guys… It’s just semi-sweet chocolate chips and heavy whipping cream stirred together over medium heat on the stove. Then you let it cool off and voila done. I use one small container of Whipping cream to a whole Large bag of Chocolate Chips… Yeah, the Big Bag.

I dipped the tops “ala cupcake style” in the ganache and put them on a cookie sheet int he fridge to cool. I definitely suggest keeping them refrigerated until you are ready to eat and then “warming them up” a bit.

The scary part though is HOW MUCH they really do taste like s’mores. I made them for a girls weekend up north, six women… 12 cookie cups… GONE the first night. The ladies both loved and hated me.

Whatever, I’ll take it. Not convinced yet? Then I’ll just show you more pictures… Feel free to hate me. 🙂

IMG_7936 copy
IMG_7938 copy
IMG_7942 copy

Linking up for Fill The Cookie Jar!

fillthecookiejar

Be sure to check out all the other great “fall” cookies on the hop here.

Until next month… I wonder what the theme will be then?

 

** While we are “In the Kitchen” check out some of the kitchen crafts up on So You Think You’re Crafty!! Vote for your favorite 5! One of them will hopefully be mine. 🙂 Today is the last day to vote!! I Hope to be back again next week**

blogsignature-01

21 responses to Fill The Cookie Jar | S’mores Cookie-cupcakes

  1. 

    These look delicious. I love s’mores!

  2. 

    Oh yeah…. That’s my kind of cookie! Love that you added the ganache to send it over the top!

  3. 

    I totally had a craving and decided to convince others it was a “fall” theme. I think I pulled it off 😉

  4. 

    Thanks!! Love me some chocolate overload, ganache topping.

  5. 

    They look so yummy! You just made me crave these cookies for breakfast! I better start baking 🙂

  6. 

    Okay, no fair, I need these PDQ, but I have to work first, go buy the ingredients and then satisfaction guaranteed.

  7. 

    Any recipe with ‘S’more’s’ in the title is perfect for anytime time of the yea!

  8. 

    Oh my gosh! Those look amazing. I will definitely be trying those!

  9. 

    I’m drooling over here! They look great!

  10. 

    Thanks for the sweet comment!

  11. 

    HAHA.. I think so too 😉

  12. 

    I hope you love them!

  13. 

    Thanks! They are the best warm… but I ate them cold too 😉

  14. 

    Let me know how it goes!

  15. 

    Oh.my.goodness.

    Looks so delicious!

  16. 

    Now I am craving some smores cookies.. these look so yummy… gooey yummy goodness. I am going to put this on my to make list…

  17. 

    Oh man these look ooey and gooey and delicious!

  18. 

    Oh my goodness I don’t even like chocolate but these look good! Do you think they’d do well being shipped in a box?

  19. 

    I dont think they will with the Ganache, but if you left that off probably would ship ok!

  20. 

    This inamtofrion is off the hizool!

  21. 

    That’s an astute answer to a tricky question