Warrior Weekend Wrap Up & My Second Blog Buddy

July 29, 2013

Last weekend… was a bit crazy. To say the least. Saturday morning I got up early and ran the Warrior Dash. I’ve ran it three years in a row and really love it (even thought I hate it for a whole week after, hah).  For those of you that don’t know what it is… The Warrior Dash is one of the “really popular” 5k races across the US (and maybe Canada?) Basically it’s a 5k race with obstacles. Obstacles that kick your ass. Obstacles that (in my case) leave you banged up and bruised afterwards. I’ve ran it with friends the first two years, but this year was the first year I ran it on my own. Which is MUCH harder to stay motivated. At the end of the race, you get a medal, a warrior helmet, a beer and a t-shirt… oh and you’re covered in mud, dirt & who knows what else. 

photo 1 photo 2 photo 3

So after running that I was basically ready to lay in bed and watch movies the rest of the day. I might have done some laundry. I think…

But SUNDAY… whooo wee. Sunday I got my butt up and got some seriously work done. I’ve been hinting that there was something big coming up and I think I can finally talk about it.  A few months ago I signed up to participate in a 10 week craft blog challenge series called So You Think You’re Crafty (cool name, right?). Well shortly after emailing the host I was informed that I could audition for Season 17. I did a lot of happy dancing, some screaming, called the boyfriend, mom and my friends. I know, I’m weird. 

Ok, so here is my official announcement. I’m participating in the SYTYC Audition round where the top 10 out of 12 bloggers move on (which I think is next week?). If I make it past the auditions I get to participate in a TEN WEEK competition. Each week has a different theme that the crafters create a project based off of, the round is posted on Monday and the winner is announced on Friday. Each round is done anonymously, so I can’t TELL you which one is mine, but hopefully you’ll be able to figure it out. I’m promising to only do projects that would be something I would create for myself ordinarily, which hopefully will set my projects apart. After they post the winner of each week I will share with you on CLA which project is mine and a tutorial!

So anyways- back to Sunday, I was working on my round 1 & 2 projects (I’m optimistic) which only proceeded to add bruises and cuts and scrapes to my already bruised, cut up, and scraped body. Then I popped into IKEA for some new storage ideas and staging bits and pieces, popped into Home Goods, because who can drive past Home Goods without stopping in? Not this girl. And at about 8pm after I returned home I decided it would be a good job to get my garage/ workshop in order (because taking it easy after warrior dash just didn’t seem important).  

This is it’s current state: (please don’t judge, it was messy and I NEED to be able to pull my car in this winter. I’d show you the other side, but it’s got SYTYC projects)

photo 5

So that was my weekend. Projects Galore. 

Oh! what also happened this weekend? THIS.

Capture

Yep, The Bounce Back not only went over $500K this weekend, the funding got extended a week courtesy of Indiegogo –they want to see this jump up the rank of MOST CROWDFUNDED FUNDED FILMS (currently we are sitting pretty at #4)– AND we are currently sitting at just over $600K with new perks coming today and tomorrow. Completely awed at the amount of love Shemar’s fans are giving him and this project and I’m so excited to not only be a part of it now, but continue to be a part of this project through the end. Can anyone say RED CARPET PREMIER PARTY? Yep, I’ll be there. Maybe I’ll even get a smooch from Shemar ;).

Lastly, but certainly NOT the least, giving my second blog buddy from July a HUGE shout out. LIZZY from Lizzy’s Luggage. You heard a little about her here. Thanks lady for a really sweet & custom gift.

photo 4

This is my first branded ANYTHING and I absolutely love it. I literally wore it the day after getting it. 🙂 If you havent done so already (and if you haven’t, get a MOVE ON) please go check out her site, facebook & twitter… leave her some love. She’s super inspiring to me. I tried to channel some of that inspiration into this post (how am I doing?) by being more me and writing a bit more about my life.

Ok, That’s it for this Monday. More projects, potential bruises and new stuff coming up in the pipeline! Are you guys excited?

Blog Signature

7 responses to Warrior Weekend Wrap Up & My Second Blog Buddy

  1. 

    Oh my goodness…you post so fast that I can’t keep up! 🙂 I have heard of runs similar to the warrior run…they sounds completely nuts. I think just plain old running on plain old pavement is enough excitement for me!!! And the fact that you are auditioning for So You Think You’re Craft….that’s awesome. The best of luck to you. I can’t wait to see your projects!

  2. 

    Just imagine: A smooch from Shemar. You’ll be one lucky girl 😉

  3. 

    Thanks Kelly! I’m really excited for it. It’s KILLING me that I can’t share all the projects I’ve been working on! The Warriro Dash isn’t THAT bad, it can leave you pretty sore, but for most people the worst part is the mud 🙂

  4. 

    I’M SO EXCITED. hopefully my bf didn’t read that post. Haha…

  5. 

    Oh my goodness, those bruises look SUPER painful!

    xx
    Kelly
    Sparkles and Shoes

  6. 

    Haha, they were for about a day but they healed over fast! It was a LOT of fun. Much harder this year than in years past.

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Blogging and the Hollywood Connection | - July 30, 2013

    […] Tuesday everyone. I’m popping in for a quick second to let you in on some MORE great news. Yesterday I announced that I will be auditioning for So You Think You’re Crafty, a ten week blog competition. I’m hoping you will all pop over each week to check out the […]