THE POST THAT WILL MAKE ME LOOK LIKE AN ALCOHOLIC (OR JUST REALLY BAD AT RECYCLING)

June 1, 2013

Hey guys! It’s a GORGEOUS Saturday in Detroit so I’m popping in to writing up this post and then heading outside. 🙂

Raise your hand if you drink wine? (yep, I see those hands… glad I’m in good company). Now raise your hand if you drink a lot of wine (don’t be shy… I’m raising mine too.) Ok, last question… what do you do with your leftover bottles?

Now I know that a majority of you are going to say “we recycle, duh”. And to those I commend you. However, I bet there are some people out there like me who live in a private neighborhood that doesn’t have recycling. So, while I wash out my recycling and do put it in a bin… It generally sits there for months on end until a day when I bag it up and hand it over to my mom to add to her recycling. So, imagine how many wine bottles I have hanging around. Yeah. That many.

photo

I’ve been wanting to try my hand at cutting glass for a while now but I’ve heard the horror stories about how HARD it is. I’m here to tell you people that it’s not that hard. In fact, after the first bottle of two you really get the hang of it. 😉

First, you will need:
* Bottle Cutter 
(I bought this one from Amazon)
 * Several Wine Bottles (uh, duh?)
* Sandpaper/ Emery Cloth 
(I bought this)
* Big Pot to Boil Water In
* Deep Dish Full of Ice Water
* Candle
* Pot Holders
 * PATIENCE (SUPER IMPORTANT)

Ok, to get started you need to get that label off of that wine bottle. Best tactic to do this is to boil it off in some hot water so stick that baby into the big pot of boiling water. After a little bit (each label is different) with a pot holder grab the bottle by the neck and scrub that label off with a sponge. Dont use anything abrasive as it might scratch the glass. 

photo 1-1photo 2-1  photo 3

Once the label is off you want to let the bottle cool to room temperature. (You can run it under luke-warm water to speed up this process. Just don’t use extreme temperature changes.)

Next use the bottle cutter (follow directions people) to scour the bottle at your chosen height. After scouring then trace the line you just made with the flame from a candle. It’s ok if you touch the bottle and black marks show up. Try to follow the line. After going around the whole bottle IMMEDIATELY WHILE STILL HOT dunk the bottle into the deep container of ice water. You should hear a popping sound (that’s the glass cracking) and with minimal effort  the bottom should break off of the bottle. Hopefully the line is clear. sometimes mine had some wonky humps and dips… it’s to be expected. Glass bottles are not made evenly so you might get some weird edges.

photo 4   photo 5    photo 1   photo 2

photo 3-1photo 4-1       photo

Wipe off the black marks on the edges and flip over and sand down the edges (round those suckers so they aren’t sharp!) Wash it out and fill with your favorite beverage…. wine anyone?

See? Not hard. Dont get frustrated if you break the first few, it’s something that takes practice. Once you get the hang of it though imagine all the possibilities!

Alright, now go enjoy your Saturday!

Blog Signature

6 responses to THE POST THAT WILL MAKE ME LOOK LIKE AN ALCOHOLIC (OR JUST REALLY BAD AT RECYCLING)

  1. 

    I don’t drink wine, but sure I can find some thing else to use..nice tutorial:)

  2. 

    Glass pop/ soda bottles would be really cute too! Thanks for stopping by!

    //Justynn

  3. 

    Pretty nifty! I love that you are using them as glasses. Pinning so when the desire strikes me to break bottles I will do this instead 🙂

  4. 

    Going to try this! Fortunately, I do have recycling, BUT I’ve save a lot of funky bottles for that “someday” project. I have a ton that have awesome shapes or a cool color (that I call “Hot Teal”). Can’t wait to get them out of my garage. 🙂

  5. 

    that sounds like an awesome color! What are the bottles from?

    //Justynn

  6. 

    Such a great idea!! I will have to try it. I love the design of your blog, and I really love the title of this post lol :). Stopping by from Friend Connect!