Snip, Glue & Frame #Boom

May 24, 2013

photo 5

Happy Friday night everyone! Are you excited for a long holiday weekend? I’m looking forward to the extra day myself, since school started (last class yo!) I feel like I haven’t had enough time to actually get my house in order for spring/ summer. Which, probably doesn’t matter much since today was 47 degrees in Detroit.

Yep, I’ll repeat that… 47 degrees, in Detroit, on May 24th.

I was so frustrated coming home form class last night in the cold. I’ve been waiting for the flowers in my vertical garden to root a bit before I can tip it up (supposed to wait three weeks! I’m super impatient…) and I’ve already had to replace two rows once due to a random frost. Needless to say I last minute threw a paint drop cloth over the bugger last night in hopes that it would prevent yet another frost kill. We’ll see in a day or two if I was successful.

ANNNNNNNNYWAYS….. Speaking of school, our project this week is to recreate our faces, out of clippings from magazines in a complimentary color scale. Our prof suggested that we test our glue out prior to doing this project for real (I guess some glues warp the paper or something). So, last night I decided to cut up a bunch of strip of text and create my own little version of this project. I present to you…. my skull-face with sunglasses art!

Tah Dah!!

imageB

Kinda cool huh? Well there’s been a few things floating around on Pinterest kinda similar like this and I found this and also this one from Sarah. So I decided to “test out my glue” and make something along those lines.

First I drew out my design on one side of a piece of printer paper (you could also just print something… you know… if you weren’t out of printer ink like me ;)). Make sure it’s a simple shape like something you’d pick for an easy pumpkin carving.

photo 1-1

photo 2-1

Ok, got your drawing/ print? Flip it over (yep you read that right) we are going to glue on the backside of the print. Next I cut up a whole bunch of thin strips from magazines. I tried to keep it mostly black and white text with some hints of color. After I cut the strips I glued them down a few at a time you know, to “test” my glue.

photo 4-1 photo 3-1 photo 1

After they grid I flipped the image back over so that the sketch was face up and then cut out my image with an Exacto knife.  Tip: To keep lines smooth while you’re cutting use fluid movements. Some people like to move the item they are cutting vs. moving the knife too much too.

photo 2 photo 3

Cool beans, all cut out. I cut out some sunglasses and glued everything down onto some mount board with spray mount. After I glued it I realized that I wanted the glasses to stand out a little more so I went over them with some craft paint.

photo 4

Then just cut down the mount board, pop it into a frame and you’re ready to hang. Easy right?photophotoA

The best part? I actually had everything already in my craft supplies so the cost for this quick DIY art? $0. You can’t beat that.

What do you think? What other easy DIY projects have you seen lately? Anything that costs almost nothing?

I will be back periodically over the weekend but if you don’t stop back I wish you all a happy, safe and relaxing Memorial Day!

Blog Signature

6 responses to Snip, Glue & Frame #Boom

  1. 

    thank you!
    //justynn

  2. 

    Oh man, I am in LOVE with this. Brilliant. I love that you picked a skull and added sunglasses.

  3. 

    Thanks Kelly! I thought the sunglasses added fun touch 🙂

Trackbacks and Pingbacks:

  1. Memo and Organization Station {Tutorial} | So You Think You're CraftySo You Think You're Crafty - August 14, 2013

    […] Magazine Clip Art Skull | Map Art | Typography Art […]