Monday’s Weekend Review -in- iPhone Pics

May 13, 2013

Happy Monday! This weekend was JAM PACKED full of activities and I can’t WAIT to share what I was up to. First though, before I go any further I must say:

CONGRATULATIONS TO THE DETROIT RED WINGS ON ADVANCING TO ROUND TWO!! 
(I tried to stay awake to watch the game, but it was a losing battle. Instead I just checked FB in the morning, Ducks you gave us a run for our money but ultimately Hockey Town prevailed. Wont lie though, nervous about this next round against Chicago. It’s going to be brutal!)

drwchivs
Moving on… Like I said, this weekend was CRAZY BUSY. Friday after work the rooms and I had to run downtown to go grab our packets for our COLOR ME RAD: DETROIT race on Saturday morning. Some last minute need to find a long sleeve white shirt because its only 50° in detroit this weekend. #WTF, I’m over the cold. BRING ME SUNSHINE AND 70s PLEASE.

photo 1-1

photo 2-1

Saturday morning I was up early to head to the Riverfront for the Race. The rooms and I had a TON of fun running the 5K and getting doused in color. Partied afterwards with other runners and grabbed lunch at my favorite breakfast/bar. The wait for food was so long that we decided to get a little creative with our orange juice while we waited.

photo 4-1

photo 3-1

After we finally got our food we headed home to shower and nap. I woke up to about 10 minutes of sunny warm weather before the wind and the rain started so I busted my butt getting my plants finally planted into my vertical planter. Sharing the process of this later this week.

photo 2

Added a third coat of stain to my DIY mirror from the Pinterest Challenge Last week and hung that baby up where it was originally. I’m going to show you a picture of it, but you can judge me of the things hanging out on my dresser and the horrible HORRIBLE lamp that needs to go. It’s on my list. I swear. Also ignore the fingerprints, we had to manhandle the thing to get it back up!

photo 4

Then I finished my Mother’s Day gift. I made candles for my mom. It was my first time. Am I a pro now? No way. I had zero Idea what I was doing. But she at least pretended like she liked them. (thanks mom :))

Then Sunday was Mother’s Day so I traveled back to the home base to plant flowers with the madre, and headed home (well, to the bf’s) to start and finish my first painting assignment of the summer for school

photo 3

Whew. I feel like I ran a race… wait, I did. No wonder…

And also, just to make you smile this Monday, check out this video of a certain four-legged friend of mine. He loves the playground. Cries when we pull up to one. What a baby.

How was your weekend? Did you do something fun for Mother’s Day? I’d love to hear all about it!

Blog Signature

6 responses to Monday’s Weekend Review -in- iPhone Pics

  1. 

    I’ve always wanted to do a 5k, especially a color-run! They look so fun 🙂 Also, I’m from the suburbs of Chicago, so I can’t help but say Go Hawks! 🙂 haha!

    Thanks for stopping by! Love your blog 🙂

    ♥Brooke
    http://youreinbrookelynn.blogspot.com/

  2. 

    Thanks Brooke! Nothing wrong with a little blog rivalry over hockey. 🙂 And I STRONGLY suggest doing the Color Run, Color Me RAD, or Warrior Dash. I’ve personally ran all three and they are FANTASTIC. Plus Warrior Dash is put on by the people at Red Frog Events, based out of Chicago… so you know, a little home love for you right there!

    // Justynn

  3. 

    I ran in the Color Run last summer and it was so much fun! I love unique 5k’s like these!

  4. 

    They’re great! It’s nice that its for charity, but I honestly do it for the fun. Looking for more fun runs to do this summer as well!

    Have a good one!

  5. 

    Looks like fun! I am signed up to do the Colour Me Rad run in July and can’t wait. I didn’t get a race in at all last year, and the Rad run will be my first one this year. I always find it helps the motivation to have a little incentive 🙂

  6. 

    good luck! and most of all have fun!
    // justynn