Porcelain Bowl

April 27, 2013

No, I’m not talking about the toilet… although if you wanted to– I guess you could paint that too. I’m talking about using a porcelain paint pen to decorate a bowl, or cup or tray… whatever you heart desires.

I was at Michael’s the other day and found a Pebeo Porcelain 150 Pen. These range in different sized tips but I grabbed a 1.2 mm. In hindsight I’d probably grab a smaller one in the future. I already had some small white dishes I found in the Ikea “as is” section for 65¢ each because they were part of a bigger collection and one was missing.

I removed the price tag, washed them and then read the instructions on the paint pen. Per my pen, if I wanted to make the art dishwasher safe I needed to paint it on, wait 24hrs and then bake for 35 mins at 150˚.

COMBO-01

Easy. I grabbed a chair, my furry footrest and started painting.

Meet my fuzzy footrest: Ziggy

Fuzzy Footwarmer

What do you think? Tomorrow I’ll pop it into the oven and voila! New place to throw my earings when I crawl into bed. 🙂

finished design

Cost Breakdown:

  • Bowl to decorate: 65¢
  • Porcelain Pen: $9

Total: $9.65.
AKA seriously cheap.

Are you working on any quick and easy projects today? I’m working on my vertical garden, a mirror project and taking the time to cook out on the grill. Hope you enjoy your Saturday! 

Blog Signature

4 responses to Porcelain Bowl

  1. 

    Very cute! I’m going to have to try this!

  2. 
    Painted Love Blog May 10, 2013 at 5:09 PM

    love it! One can never have too many pretty bowls around!