Apple Pie a la Mode

April 25, 2013

So, I might have mentioned before that I make a mean apple pie. How do I know this? I had a list. A list of friends that requested I make them a pie for one reason or another (their go’s parent’s first time over for dinner, birthdays & family reunions). For a while that list was recorded on the back of an old DTE Energy bill, then it moved into a list on my computer, and it just rotated though the people.

Well, by special request from probably one of THE BEST guy friend a girl could have I’m sharing my recipe.
See that? I’m sharing. I totally did learn something from preschool.

Most apple pie recipes are pretty similar, and mine is in the same category, with a few tweaks to the ingredients.  You will need…

Ingredients:

1/2   cup                      Sugar (plus 1-2 tablespoons for topping)
1/4   cup                      Flour
1       teaspoon            Cinnamon (plus 1 teaspoon for topping)
1/4   teaspoon            Nutmeg
1       pinch                  Salt
2      tablespoons      Butter
2-3   tablespoons      Lemon Juice

5-6   Peeled & Sliced Apples (I generally do 3 Granny Smith & 3 Golden delicious)
2      Chilled & Rolled Pie Crust (If I’m in a rush and don’t have time to make my own I use Pillsbury ready-made pie crust)

Instructions:

1) Preheat oven to 425 degrees & wash and rinse apples.

2) Peel all the apples (easiest to use a potato peeler) & cut to roughly 1/4″ or smaller slices. The trick is to not have anything larger or it wont cook down as fast. Easy way to cut out the core is to “box” it out. Cut the apple with a large knife on one side of the core and keep going around it until your core looks like a rectangle. The amount of apple you lose doing this wont make a difference and it’s much safer to do than trying to dig the core out with a peeling knife.

3) After you have all the apples sliced sprinkle with 2-3 tablespoons of lemon juice to prevent browning and add some zangy flavor. Two should be plenty, but I usually just squeeze from the little lemon shaped bottle so who knows how much I really put in. 😉

4) Mix your dry ingredients together. Then pour them over the apples and mix well with your hands (you’re getting dirty!)

5) Lay out your bottom pie crust in your pie dish, mold the dough to the shape of the bottom so it’s pressing up against the side around the whole dish. Then fill with your apple mixture. This is generally the part where I decide if I’ve used too many apples… and end up eating a handful to “help level” the heaping mound of apple mixture. Or so I tell myself…

applepie-01

6) Cut up the 2 Tbsp. of butter into chucks and disperse evenly across the top of the mixture. Then cover with your second rolled pie crust dough.

7) This is the tricky part, roll the edges of the crust by taking the bottom piece of dough and folding it over the top. Press down to seal the two pieces together. You can either use a fork to add a pretty edge or pinch the edges to make a zig zag pattern.

8) Brush the whole top of the pie crust included with 2 table spoons of water, then sprinkle with a cinnamon and sugar mixture (the amounts are listed above). Cut a few vent holes in the top and cover the edges with either a pie crust cover or aluminum foil. Pop that sucker into the over for roughly 45-50 minutes. until the top is golden brown and the apples are bubbling inside. Let cool for at least 15 minutes before serving. I generally let mine cool off for 30 minutes to solidify a bit. Serve with your favorite Ice Cream (Guernsey anyone?).

Pretty easy and simple recipe. But always a crowd favorite. By using two different types of apples you can tailor the pie to your preferred taste. If you like it a bit sweeter vs. tangy use one less Granny Smith and vice versa. And also if you don’t have some of these silicon pie crust covers you should consider getting one.

I made the boyfriend cut while I took pictures. I don’t think he minded though, because in the end he would get pie…

IMG_6854

Blog Signature

One response to Apple Pie a la Mode

  1. 

    mmmm… Pie…looks delicious!! thanks for sharing!