GOLD …err Copper Leaf Art

April 19, 2013

HAPPY FRIDAY.

I’m super glad its Friday, even though it’s a rainy Friday here in Detroit. Which pretty much pushes back my plans for some of my outdoor projects (aka vertical garden). ::Sigh::

So, that means I need to get started on some indoor projects. Luckily I’ve got a few ideas in that department. First up: Did anyone happen to check out this really cool DIY gold leaf  project from BrittneyMakes posted on the 6th Street Design School blog?

combo-01

Well I fell in love with how easy and simple it looked and thought it would make a great addition to my art wall (picture of that to follow soon!) As much as I loved the ampersand and wanted to make the same exact thing for myself, I also wanted to try a more complex shape to share with you. So I started looking around the home for inspiration. And boy, did I find something cute.

Meet Lily, my roommate’s 2 year old red doberman.

Lily

Seriously how cute is she? My rooms is gone on a cruise this week and I’ve been able to have Lily all to myself (muhahahah) and have enjoyed every moment of it. Plus since she misses her mom I’ve been getting extra cuddles. Not complaining.

So how do I turn this cute face into art? Well I’m glad you didn’t ask.

First I found a shape that resembled my muse. Who doesn’t love Google? Then I printed it out, carefully cut it out, taped it down and traced the bugger onto some black mount board I just happened to have lying around. Yes, I stock pile craft supplies. Michaels and Jo-Ann coupons are like GOLD in my house. Or maybe in this case copper.

Part 1-01

Once I had my image traced out I took a small paint brush and some regular Elmer’s School Glue and painted the areas I wanted foil. Now, here’s a tip for all you first time foilers like myself. Paint a thin coat, and do the ares with the LEAST amount of detail first. Why? Because likely by the time you do the detailed parts, the original areas will be almost dry. School glue dries fast, and you don’t want to have to redo the detailed parts again.

copperleaf

After you’re glued you want to take your foil and put down a whole sheet over your drawing. If you have to use two sheets try not to overlap them much. Then you wait. You want the glue to be 100% dry before you go to brush off the excess. Dont get excited like I did and have to redo it. Oops. It was about this time after I placed the foil down on the glue that I realized that I had purchased Copper foil instead of Gold. Hence the name of this post. For a split second I was pissed and then realized that if I could pretend mistake it for gold, maybe everyone else that walked by it could too ;).

Meanwhile while it dried I had to figure out what I was going to put them in. Luckily my lovely mother has what I call a “Garage Sale Problem” (and I mean that in the nicest way possible 😉 ). Meaning if she sees a garage sale sign she will whip a U’y and pull that truck over. Why is this lucky? Well at one time I mentioned to her that I was looking for frames of all shapes and sizes and details for my art wall. So now I have a hoarding size collection of old frames with ugly artwork that I clean up and paint and put my new artwork into. See exhibit A below. That’s right, 50 cents. (THANKS MOM!) Anyways… I found two that fit the size I needed and ripped out the old junk and painted the frames white.

part 2-01

After 24 hours, my glue was dry, I used a soft brush to lightly brush away the excess foil, feed a few touch up spots and my artwork was ready to go. Popped that baby into the painted frame and called it done.

part 3-01

What do you think? Do you see the resemblance? I plan on passing this copper doberman to my rooms when she arrives back home, but I’m keeping the ampersand for myself.

What projects are you working on lately? Have any good muses or inspiration lying around your house? How adorable is Lily?! I love this little bugger!

Blog Signature

27 responses to GOLD …err Copper Leaf Art

  1. 

    Lily has her nails painted? Adorable…especially on a Doberman. Your art turned out great….I like the copper leaf instead of the standard gold. Have a nice weekend (even if it is rainy)

  2. 

    She does! My rooms painted them pink to match hers before she left. 🙂 Thanks for the comment and have a great weekend yourself!

  3. 

    These turned out great!! I really need to jump on the gold leaf train!

  4. 

    Thank you! I really appreciate the feedback from a blogger that I love to follow!

  5. 

    Great job honey, maybe you won’t make fun of me and my garage sale U-turns from now on!! What would you like for me to look for next?

  6. 

    I’m amazed, I must say. Seldom do I come across a blog that’s both educative
    and engaging, and let me tell you, you have hit the nail on the head.
    The problem is something which not enough people are speaking
    intelligently about. Now i’m very happy that I came across this in my search for something concerning this.

  7. 

    How to whole stage in Temple Run two?

  8. 

    Unquestionably believe that which you stated.

    Your favorite reason seemed to be on the net the simplest thing to be aware of.

    I say to you, I certainly get irked while people think about worries
    that they just don’t know about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top as
    well as defined out the whole thing without having side effect ,
    people can take a signal. Will probably be back to get more.

    Thanks

  9. 

    My brother suggested I would possibly like this blog.
    He was entirely right. This publish actually made my day.
    You cann’t consider simply how much time I had spent for this information!
    Thank you!

  10. 

    Hey there! Do you use Twitter? I’d like to follow you if that would be ok.
    I’m definitely enjoying your blog and look forward to new posts.

  11. 

    Hello, I think yyour blog might be having browser compatibility issues.

    When I look at youur website in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it hhas some overlapping.

    I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  12. 

    Hiya! I know this is kinda off topic nevertheless I’d figured I’d ask.
    Would you be interested in trading links
    or maybe guest authoring a blog article or vice-versa?
    My website discusses a lot of the same subjects as yours and I believe we could greatly benefit
    from each other. If you happen to be interested feel
    free to send me an e-mail. I look forward to hearing from you!
    Awesome blog by the way!

  13. 

    Genuinely no matter if someone doesn’t be aware of afterward its up to other people that they
    will help, so here it occurs.

  14. 

    Very energetic blog, I loved that bit. Will there be a part 2?

  15. 

    Wow that was unusual. I just wrote an very long
    comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t
    appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Regardless, just wanted to say great blog!

  16. 

    This is very interesting, You are a very skilled blogger.
    I’ve joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking more of your excellent post.
    Also, I’ve shared your site in my social networks!

  17. 

    Thankfulness to my father who informed me regarding this blog, this website is in fact
    remarkable.

  18. 

    Thee video game business has but to see a sustainedd recovery
    in sagging software prohram sales in spite of robust hardware
    sales driven by the November launches of Microsoft’s Xbox A single
    and Sony’s PlayStation 4 consoles.

  19. 

    What’s Going down i am new to this, I stumbled upon this I have found It absolutely helpful and it has aided me out
    loads. I am hoping to give a contribution & aid other customers like its helped me.

    Good job.

  20. 

    You actually make it appear so easy along with your presentation but I find this topic to be really something that I believe I’d never understand.
    It seems too complex and extremely vast for me. I am having a look ahead for
    your subsequent put up, I will try to get the dangle of
    it!

  21. 

    Hi there! Quick question that’s totally off topic.
    Do you know how to make your site mobile friendly?

    My weblog looks weird whe viewing from my iphone4.
    I’m trying to find a theme or plugin that might be able to resolve
    this issue. If you have any suggestions, please share.
    Appreciate it!

  22. 

    With this device, it will not matter which room of the house
    you are in, you will definitely hear the door bell the first time your
    visitor presses on it. Wireless alarm systems keep off the thieves
    and burglaries, making your home more secure when you are out.
    Make sure your kids know the rules about what to do when the doorbell rings.

  23. 
    Modern Combat 5 October 18, 2014 at 8:50 PM

    Hey There. I found your blog using msn. This is
    a very well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it
    and come back to read more of your useful information. Thanks for the post.
    I’ll certainly comeback.

  24. 

    I’m curious to find out what blog system you have been utilizing?
    I’m having some small security problems with my
    latest website and I’d like to find something more safeguarded.
    Do you have any suggestions?